Sector Specific Support for those affected by COVID-19

Covid Support

June 4, 2020

Words by Angelica Bomford

With the rapidly changing nature of the COVID-19 outbreak, information and advice from government is constantly being updated. 

We have collated advice from across the sector to provide guidance to those in the creative industries who are affected by the Coronavirus and its fallout. 

We will be updating this webpage regularly as the situation develops. If you would like to add any guidance or resources from your organisation, please email feedback@creativeindustresfederation.com.

Below is sector-specific advice, guidance and legal support provided by unions and sector support organisations. You are advised to contact these organisations directly for specialist advice. 

A Younger Theatre: https://twitter.com/ayoungertheatre/status/1239929483408232448

AIM: https://www.aim.org.uk/#/resources/covid-19-coronavirus—aim-member-faq

AIM Launches Immediate Access Crisis Fund for Independent Music Contractors: https://www.aim.org.uk/#/opportunities/view/aim-crisis-fund-for-independent-music-contractors

Arts Council Wales: https://arts.wales/news-jobs-opportunities/responding-coronavirus-covid-19

Arts Professional: https://www.artsprofessional.co.uk/magazine/article/stay-well-supported-and-creative-our-new-microsite-covid-19-updates?utm_source=non_subscriber_features&utm_medium=email&utm_content=nid-213734&utm_campaign=19th-March-2020

BECTU: https://bectu.org.uk/article/covid-19-coronavirus/

BFI: https://www.bfi.org.uk/supporting-uk-film/message-about-coronavirus-industry-bfi-chief-executive-ben-roberts?utm_content=buffer788bb&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitterbfi&utm_campaign=buffer

BIID – advice for Interior Designers: https://biid.org.uk/news/coronavirus-advice-interior-designers

Broadway Producers Pledge $1 Million Challenge Match for Coronavirus Emergency Relief: https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/broadway-producers-pledge-1-million-challenge-match-coronavirus-emergency-relief-1286150

Creative Cardiff: https://www.creativecardiff.org.uk/news/information-creatives-during-covid-19

Creative Scotland: https://www.creativescotland.com/what-we-do/latest-news/archive/2020/02/coronavirus-advice

Dazed: https://www.dazeddigital.com/art-photography/article/48400/1/advice-from-artists-on-how-to-adapt-change-and-cope-during-covid-19

Directors UK: https://www.directors.uk.com/news/covid-19-faqs-for-directors-uk-members

Directors UK Guidance: https://www.directors.uk.com/news/coronavirus-advice-for-directors-uk-members

Equity:  https://www.equity.org.uk/news/2020/march/coronavirus-advice-to-equity-members/

Federation of Scottish Theatre: https://www.scottishtheatre.org/news/coronavirus-advice-and-guidance?destination=node%2F7

Film and TV Covid-19 Emergency Relief Fund: https://filmtvcharity.org.uk/covid-19-help-advice/covid-19-relief-fund/

Help Musicians: https://www.helpmusicians.org.uk/news/latest-news/advice-relating-to-coronavirus-covid-19

Incorporated Society of Musicians: https://www.ism.org/advice/coronavirus-stay-informed

Independent Theatre Council:  https://www.itc-arts.org/blog

Music Managers’ Forum: https://themmf.net/2020/03/10/coronavirus-updated-information/

Musicians Union: https://www.musiciansunion.org.uk/Home/News/2020/Mar/advice-for-musicians-Coronavirus-covid-19

Musicians Union has launched a Coronavirus Hardship Fund following the massive loss of earnings and job opportunities for musicians: https://www.musiciansunion.org.uk/hardshipfund

£1M fund for MU members with genuine and pressing hardship: https://www.musiciansunion.org.uk/hardshipfund

NTS: https://www.nts.live/incoming/stay-connected-stay-safehttps://www.nts.live/incoming/stay-connected-stay-safe

The Professional Publishers Association: https://www.ppa.co.uk/news/coronavirus

RIBA: https://www.architecture.com/knowledge-and-resources/knowledge-landing-page/coronavirus-covid-19-advice

Screen: https://www.screendaily.com/news/coronavirus-film-and-tv-latest-follow-screens-coverage/5148020.article

Society of Authors: https://www2.societyofauthors.org/coronavirus/   

TIGA: https://tiga.org/covid-19

UK Theatre:  https://uktheatre.org/theatre-industry/news/theatre-industry-coronavirus-advice/

UKIE: https://ukie.org.uk/news/2020/03/how-prepare-coronavirus-policy-your-games-business?mc_cid=f29a271b47&mc_eid=1873503046

UKIE and Sheridans team up for Covid-19 Contract Helpline – https://ukie.org.uk/news/2020/03/ukie-and-sheridans-team-covid-19-contract-helpline

WGGB – The Writers’ Guild: https://writersguild.org.uk/covid-19-advice-for-members/

Support for theatre professionals during coronavirus: https://theatresupport.info/

SOLT/UK Theatre free helpline for theatres/theatre staff: https://solt.co.uk/what-we-do/industry-resources-guidance/encouraging-safer-and-more-supportive-working-practices-in-theatre/

Royal Theatrical Fund for those in entertainment industry struggling with illness: http://www.trtf.com/blog

BFI Q&A/info for screen sector https://www.bfi.org.uk/supporting-uk-film/covid-19-answering-questions-screen-sectors

PACT guide for screen businesses: http://www.pact.co.uk/news-detail.html?id=coronavirus-guidance-for-businesses

BECTU advice: https://bectu.org.uk/topic/covid-19-coronavirus/

Film & TV Charity helplinehttps://filmtvcharity.org.uk/we-can-help/support-line/?utm_source=ppc&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=support-line2019&utm_content=brandad&gclid=EAIaIQobChMIwq2xudy16AIVGeDtCh3k-wVmEAAYASAAEgJDYPD_BwE

ACE emergency fund: https://www.artscouncil.org.uk/covid19

Production Guild advice: https://productionguild.com/covid-19-advice/

Help Musicians financial hardship fund for musicians: https://www.helpmusicians.org.uk/news/latest-news/help-musicians-launches-5m-coronavirus-financial-hardship-fu